Fear Is Like A Wilderland

Daylight falls upon the path, the forest falls behind
Today I am not prey to dark uncertainty
The shadow trembles in its wrath, I’ve robbed its blackness blind
And tasted sunlight as my fear came clear to me

I think I understand
Fear is like a wilderland
Stepping stones or sinking sand

Now the way leads to the hills, above the steeple’s chime
Below me sleepy rooftops round the harbor
It’s there I’ll take my thirsty fill of friendship over wine
Forgetting fear but never disregarding her

Oh, I think I understand
Fear is like a wilderland
Stepping stones and sinking sand

Sometimes voices in the night will call me back again
Back along the pathway of a troubled mind
When forests rise to block the light that keeps a traveler sane
I’ll challenge them with flashes from a brighter time

Oh, I think I understand
Fear is like a wilderland
Stepping stones or sinking sand

~ Joni Mitchell

Trust Joni to get right to the heart of your soul. Her beautiful poetic songs have been filling the rooms in my house once again. I seem to go through phases when I listen to Joni a lot. Each lyric I choke back with a breath wondering where I am going next, what else does my path hold for me? To say that these last few months has been lovely would be a untruth. There have been moments of great uncertainty, and of waking up with fear deep in my belly. Life doesn’t work out the way we plan, I have learned this repeatedly. Sometimes I laugh at the mystery of the world and in other times I find it hard to find my breath. I find it hard to find the ground, to feel my feet in the earth. People get taken away from us to early; unexpectedly. There are friends of whom we hold so near only to be faced with the possibility of them not being here nor there. There is heartbreak among the tragedy. There is hope that is lost. Through the dark of the nights, of whom is it that we can call upon, when we can’t find sleep or peace in our dreams. Once again, we are reminded to go to ourselves. To go deeper inside, to keep searching, to regain hope. For as far as we each may fall at times, the rise is that much greater. So, as Joni so wonderfully says, ” I think I understand. Fear is like a wilderland. Stepping Stones or sinking sand.” Need I say more?

Be safe. Be beautiful. Be bold. Breathe.

xxoo Jess

One thought on “Fear Is Like A Wilderland

Leave a Reply

